FFI Apps: FAQ

While the function of some of the controls on the Settings tab is obvious, others may require further explanation.

Breviary Content

Unlike changes made in the Appearance section, changes made here do not take effect immediately. If you were praying one of the hours, you must return to the list of hours and select one. The changes will affect the hour then selected.

Parallel Translation – you can select no translation, or a parallel translation in English or Hungarian. Additional languages may be added in the future. When you use a translation on a small screen like that of the iPhone, you may find it helpful to rotate the device to portrait orientation.

Dominus vobiscum – with the 1960 rubrics, this should be on when a priest leads the office and prays with others. With older rubrics, a priest should turn it on even when he prays alone. When it is on, the dialogs at the end of the office begin with the priest saying “Dominus vobiscum.” Otherwise, the dialogs begin “Domine exaudi orationem meam.” Of course, if you’re sufficiently familiar with the office, you can just leave the switch alone and make the adjustments mentally.

Office version – see the following table (the choices in bold are the most useful):

pre-Trent Monastic An attempt to recreate the office described by the Rule of St. Benedict
Trent 1570 The Roman Breviary as reformed after the Council of Trent
Trent 1910 The breviary on the eve of the reform of St. Pius X
Divino Afflatu The breviary as reformed by St. Pius X, shortening the office by about a third
Reduced 1955 A simplification of the rubrics, which shortened the office a little more
1960 Rubrics The reform of St. John XXIII, aimed at shortening the office
1960 with 2009 calendar An experiment in adapting the Novus Ordo calendar to the 1960 rubrics

Downloaded breviary texts

Download all – this very useful button allows you to immediately download all the texts for the next seven days so that you can pray even when you don’t have a network connection.

Eliminate data – It is rarely necessary to use this button, which eliminates all of the downloaded texts. The app sutomatically deletes outdated texts in order to save space. So the only situation in which this button would be useful is if we have discovered an error and corrected it on the server, but you had downloaded the text before we made the correction. In this case, you could use the button to empty the cache and then download the data again. However, we expect this to be a rare situation.